Getting Lookout to run on Outlook 2007 again

I am not the only who dislikes Outlook’s 2007 search engine. Joel Spolsky links an article in his blog that explains how to run the excellent Lookout email search engine (initially built for Outlook 2003) also with Outlook 2007.

Just imagine: Microsoft bought the Lookout company and then dumped this excellent technology – and then offered us the horrible Outlook 2007 search engine (which is only topped in horribility by Vista’s search).

Getting Lookout to run on Outlook 2007 again – Joel on Software

8 Responses to “Getting Lookout to run on Outlook 2007 again”

  1. Leon Says:

    I personally think my method for getting Lookout to run on Outlook 2007 is better and more safe…

    http://www.wirwar.com/blog/2008/01/22/search-e-mail-at-lightspeed-using-lookout-with-outlook-2007/

  2. Windows Search 4 (WS4) - KWSupport Says:

    […] Desktop Search 3) is now named Windows Search 4. And this is from someone who used the Lookout product for years- that is until Microsoft bought the product, and tried to turn it into MSN […]

  3. scott Says:

    I’m brand new here and this is an awesome resource… This is my first post and I’m having zero luck with finding a “LINK” or place to find “LOOKOUT” for Microsoft Office. I keep getting forwarded to Microsofts website. I know it exists, my brother just recently downloaded this powerful little tool, but of course he doesn’t remember where he downloaded it from.

    I’ve been scouring the net and it must be hidden or something…

    Can anyone share with me where I can get this, my outlook is my life for business and I’m always struggling to find emails that I can’t find. The LOOKOUT software i seen in action and would be a huge help…If I could find the little sucker!

    Can anyone point me in the right place to get it, that would be so great!

    Thanks,
    Scott

  4. Dude Love Says:

    You can still get Lookout here:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Lookout_d4808.html

  5. Klaus Says:

    But still: Lookout isn’t ready for Vista or Outlook 2007. There are new tools on the market like:

    http://www.lookeen.com

    Ok, it’s not for free, but it’s fast, small, smart and a GREAT help…every day! Try it out (14 days for free).

    Best,
    Klaus

  6. Charlie Says:

    Yes I also work with Lookeen and love it! Its the follower of Lookout, fast, reliable, easy and the most important one, it is developed and supported unlike to Lookout! Ok it costs a little bit, but it is worth his salt! Try it…

  7. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

